Home > cataloging > To err is human…

To err is human…

Mistakes. They happen. Even the catalogers make mistakes [heresy!]

In most cases, the cataloger is ignored unless something is WRONG (spine label crooked? subject heading askew? classification not as it should be? then we must lecture, er, inform) but when right? When it works well? Nothing is said (“Gosh Carol, great job on adding that 246 for the Americanized spelling of ‘color’ in the UK-centric title” OR “Wow Carol, brilliant subject headings on such a complex item!” Uh huh, not so much).

I’ve seen it on The Lists (AutoCat, OCLC-Cat, etc.). When some cataloger or another has input a record with an error or several errors, another cataloger might just point out the errors on the list … just to be helpful, mind. I’m trying to recall any instance of “Good job!” on any of these lists but failing miserably. They probably just send a PM to the individual rather than the list.

In the end though, does it really matter? Can’t we fix the problem and move along? If it is a reoccurring problem then it needs to be addressed but a one-off? Really? You need to take me to task because I put the \ instead of the / on a single record out of the bunch?

*psst, no I was not fussed at for any of these but I am aware this happens and keenly aware the cataloger is only noticed when a problem occurs or budget cuts are coming…

Categories: cataloging Tags: , ,
  1. Ana Krahmer
    May 19, 2010 at 8:07 pm | #1

    Sometimes I’ve wondered if this was a typical problem in IT–but after reading this–and after all my discussions with you and a few other people–I think it’s just human nature. “Look, you screwed this up!” I even find myself taunting my friends with stupid minutiae that don’t actually matter, beyond it gives me the opportunity to taunt them.

    But yeah, when it’s from Anon E. Mouse, and it’s this type of thing…human nature. It makes someone else feel big to put another person down. (And it’s sad, really.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

