Home > humor, librarian > mmmkay?

mmmkay?

Do you read Miss Information? I do. I’m okay with okay and I understand how others may not be okay with okay but still, I’m okay.

In a class I taught some years ago I made a mistake. I misspoke. I said something entirely erroneous. Someone in the class spoke up and noted my blunder.  I replied, “Thank you! My bad – I should have said blank and not blunk. Thank you so much for correcting me!”**

In the course evaluations, one of the class took me to task for this action.  Was the person upset that I was wrong? No! The person was upset because I admitted it and, horrors, admitted it using slang! “Never,” I was admonished on the anonymous form, “Never admit you were wrong and do not use slang as both actions show you to be an idiot.”

Oh. My bad.

**I dislike being wrong but I really despise the wrong information being given out. Correct information trumps any embarrassment. Always.

Categories: humor, librarian Tags: , ,
  1. May 31, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    I, too, am okay with “okay”. But this word, like many in our funky English language, can have multiple meanings. In this particular case, the meaning clearly was “You’re done, I’m not dealing with you anymore”. It’s all about the context and body language. But I can see how someone who might have watched the scene unfold, just merely heard it, could misconstrue it.

    As for the other item … sheesh! Somebody needs to take a pill. Because if your choices are (a) impart bad knowledge and look super-foolish and (b) admit you’re wrong, then one must always take Option B.

    • May 31, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      OK, that should say “But I can see how someone who might not have watched the scene unfold, just merely heard it, could misconstrue it.” Again, admitting I was wrong! ;-)

      • May 31, 2013 at 4:01 pm

        And I’m okay with that too :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

