Home > Metadata > Why not?
  1. Ana Krahmer
    March 24, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    What you’re discussing is getting into a topic that is near and dear to my heart: Web 3.0, semantic web, the Web as Brain, to quote members of my dissertation committee. Web 3.0 is natural language, machine-based reasoning, basically the plugging-in of the human to the Internet, from sunup to sundown. Metadata itself–and information architecture–will shape the mold around which Web 3.0 will conform. One example my dissertation chair always gives is, if a child in New York City were kidnapped and she could have been rescued had she had a microchip implant, you can bet that all children in NYC the next day will get implants.

    But, what do those implants mean without the right kind of information attached to them?

    And, on another note, I think the Web 2.0 community tag cloud will also start to play a larger role in information architecture, with all its tacit and terrifying risks.

  2. March 25, 2010 at 6:30 am

    I agree, I think the tags will become (and should) a bigger part of the architecture. I’m not anti-tag, I think though the search engine behind it should be robust…then again, I think that about everything. So long as the search ‘weighs’ the tags, the hits should be fairly accurate even when silly tags are added. However, tags do not replace the very necessary metadata…
    As to Web 3 and natural language. I think we’re on the track but it will take a long time for such an event. I like the example of the implant – and the information will make a huge difference. What was that silly Tom Cruise movie about the future and a computer glitch?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

