Home > Metadata, tags > and tagging too
  1. Ana
    March 27, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    I often ask the same question. In fact, I asked about the social tagging at the workshop you and I attended on the same day, and it interested me that both instructors dismissed this question with a response of, “Oh, that’s just web 2.0.” (I quoted this response in a paper I wrote about the professions that contribute to metadata.

  2. March 29, 2010 at 8:35 am

    Mmmhmm. And I was there, in that mindset, just two years ago. I don’t agree with it. It’s not “web 2.0”, it’s sensible. It’s interactive (which has been around a LONG time). It engages the user just as much, if not more, as when the user creates a review. Is Amazon “web 2.0”? If so it has been for longer than the term has been around since they have allowed such things practically since the beginning.

  3. Deanna
    March 29, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Sorry, but I’m still holding out on the tagging. It’s not that I don’t like the concept; it’s the chaos I can’t stand. If everyone could spell, that would make this much more acceptable to me, but since the masses don’t seem to care about spelling (how many would have written “exceptable” instead of “acceptable” in this sentence?), tagging becomes a problem. For example, go on Amazon.com and find a Bissell or Eureka vacuum cleaner. Look at the tags, and you will find “vacuum,” “vacuums,” “vaccum”, “vaccums,” “vacuum cleaner,” “vacuum cleaners”…ad infinitum. This makes the tagging rather useless since the first tag on the record might not be spelled properly and those of us who bothered to learn to spell have to wait until someone like us comes along to put a properly-spelled tag on it.

    But don’t listen to me. I also abhor word clouds as pretty useless.

  4. April 1, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Hmm, I can see your point Deanna but why can we not have the tags, even misspelled? Or have a spelling program offer suggestions to taggers? Or have a bleeding Authority File that actually WORKS like it should – linking the common misspellings, the common ‘also known as’, the common…well you see what I mean. If Yahoo and Google can offer me suggestions when I misspell a term in a search, why can’t my catalog?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

