1. May 12, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    This is becoming increasingly important in how the law upholds the legitimacy (pun intended) of digital documents, too. I haven’t heard it termed “parametadata,” but that makes sense. Sometimes, I like to play mental games with myself about metadata, file-level metadata, and preservation, and where it all goes together. I “get” it on good days, but on bad days, it gives me a headache.

    But a lot of digitization CMS (collection-organized ones) also provide some parametadata.

  2. May 13, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Excellent point Ana! I haven’t thought of that aspect but I should have, I remember looking for specific editions of medical text for lawyers. The version and date is definately an issue.
    Every time I think I see, the view changes.

  3. dianehillmann
    May 14, 2010 at 8:05 am

    A few years ago I was working on the NSDL Project and we did a lot of harvesting of data using OAI-PMH, and published some of our work. You might find this paper (http://dcpapers.dublincore.org/ojs/pubs/article/view/770) useful in terms of thinking about the potential for using “parametadata” to manage metadata in a different way than we’re used to in libraries.

  4. May 19, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Thanks Diane – I’ll add this to my growing pile (soon I’ll read it all, soon!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

