1. Jennifer
    July 12, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Was the RDA 101 Preconference worth the fee? Will it be repeated?

    • July 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      Good question. Was it worth it to me? Not as such, too much of what I already knew. It could be worth the fee if you had no prior experience or if you were unfamiliar with the intricacies of FRBR and beyond. I do laud the organizers of the session, I cannot phathom how difficult it was to put together such a session several months prior to RDA even being released (RDA was released only 2 days prior to this session). I spoke with one organizer and she stated if they do it again next year it would be a more advanced type of workshop.
      I would have liked to have had more hands on, more compare/contrast between RDA and AACR2. I would have liked to have seen what other ILS vendors are doing (even though I very much enjoyed VTLS). The more I see of RDA the more it seems to me that incredibly little is changing. Perhaps I am misreading though, I shall explore in a blog soon.
      However, the title of the session was “RDA 101” and it was a basics approach starting with the vocabulary of FRBR.

  1. September 17, 2010 at 7:47 am
  2. December 8, 2010 at 8:31 am

Leave a Reply

