Home > twitter > All a twitter

All a twitter

A while back some who read my blog “found” me, as Carolslib, on Twitter. I had established an account some time back to participant in a conference but had never really explored Twitter. Since then I have started playing with Twitter a bit. Slowly, I might be getting a handle on it. Slowly.

Two new-to-me uses of Twitter are helping me understand the potential for libraries. One, ‘Embedded Librarian’ on Twitter Served as Information Concierge for Class, was in the Chronicle of Higher Education. The other is a post from Laurel Tarulli at The Cataloging Librarian, Using Twitter for Professional Development and, Book Discussions?.

I’ve heard of embedding librarians in online classes but not using Twitter. I love the idea of it but the reality of trying to find someone who’d be available to listen in during the live class two to three times per week … well, I don’t see that. The article also raises this point. However it could be used a select set of times during the class to help introduce new concepts or research project etc.

I really love the idea of the book chat via Twitter. A virtual book club!  How cool this could be to help students connect over a novel assigned! And I’d participate but my copy of Conversations with Catalogers in the 21st Century, edited by Elaine R. Sanchez, has yet to arrive (I know, I know I could do electronic immediately but … didn’t).  Regardless, I do plan to listen in and so can you!  The hashtag is #catbkchat and you can learn even more on the High Visibility Cataloging blog post Cataloguing book chat.

Hmm, since “wicked” is “great” and “sick” is “excellent” … does this mean “you twit!” is no longer an insult?

Categories: twitter Tags:
  1. March 9, 2011 at 10:07 am

    We swear we weren’t stalking you. ;cD I won’t be able to join in this round of #catbkchat, but I look forward to seeing people’s reactions and thoughts.

    As for professional development, I’ve noticed that several of my Twitter lists have been faster to pick up on news/developments than my other information feeds (like Google Reader). Once you start to tweak a few lists and twitter clients (I currently have three up and running atm), you’re likely to hit that optimal balance between conversations and news/developments with minimal background noise. Keeping that balance does require regular tweaking of Twitter streams, though. Nevertheless, I’m happy where I’m at with Twitter right now.

    • March 9, 2011 at 2:22 pm

      No, you were being good librarians and finding out more 🙂
      I’ll be honest (as always), I have not yet explored lists. I need to do so, it is difficult to follow some things and lists will help. Good to know about tweaking twitter – I suspect it will be an ongoing process. And an ongoing learning process. YAY! I do love learning new stuff!

  2. March 10, 2011 at 8:43 am

    Another thing you might look at is saved searches – you can do this on the web interface (http://bit.ly/doTUMS ) or with several clients, like Tweetdeck. This strategy is dependent on people using the words in your search, though.

    • March 11, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      Excellent! Thanks! I do love a saved search!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

