Home > conference, humor, librarian, Uncategorized > Conference food

Conference food

Show of hands – how many others come out of a conference GAINING weight?

I just attended a great conference, not just great because of the wonderful program (more later after I digest it all) but also because of the neverending, fantastic tasting FOOD. Everywhere. Great food. And drink (I drank enough great coffee and tea to float the hotel).

Free food is calorie free – so go ahead and indulge! Vendor dinner? Have that rich dessert! Break time? Cookies AND brownies thankyouverymuch! Buffet breakfast? Bacon for everyone!

Sigh. If only. This particular conference recognized the need for healthy options (break time is not just for cookies anymore). They also had yoga. Yes – YOGA at a librarian conference. FREE yoga! I was so pleased to try this out (really yoga? sore after a relaxation? guess I’m stiffer than I knew). The organizers kept us moving, room to room and up and down stairs.

I totally deserved the  cup o’gummy worms after that workout!

  1. Trista
    April 5, 2012 at 9:02 am

    Heheh. Unless I’m exercising every day of the conference, I always gain weight. Especially because of the alcohol consumed. 😉

    My best stratagem so far has been ‘Vegetarian whenever possible’, so that I tend to fill up on low calorie stuff first. 😉

  2. May 30, 2012 at 7:17 am

    Forget about eating food, I put on weight just looking at it. LOL! The way I see it, it’s best to just enjoy the food on display wholeheartedly and apologise to your body afterwards in the form of exercise. I also tell myself that thinking, listening and talking to people at a conference takes up a whole lot of calorific energy. So there – that’s my excuse!

  1. April 9, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

