Home > books > Comfort reading

Comfort reading

I’m not the only one who does it, right? When in times of trouble, sorrow, pain (to be honest, times of joy and boredom too), I reach for a book. Not just any book but a ‘comfort’ book. An old friend who has brought love, life and learning to my world.

When I was very young, Toad and Frog always made me feel better – and there was nothing the Sneetches couldn’t teach ya. Anger or frustration made me reach for the Little House books and their tranquility. Adolescent angst gave me the greats (Blume, Danizger, Peck, etc.).

Now when I feel lost, out of control or just in need a of a good cup of tea I go to Christie or Wentworth. The need for love and laughter takes me to Andrews. A good scare where good wins takes me to Snyder. Oh, I  visit all my friends often – from Snicket to Rowling, Van Draanen to L’Engle, Grafton to Hess…heck, I could type for hours and not get them all listed.

I think I’ll go read a book.

Categories: books Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

