Home > Cataloger > Self-evident

Self-evident

This post was updated/changed May 2011 to reflect my career change from a full time trainer to …. not a full time trainer 😀

Some times things just seem self-evident to me and thus I am surprised when it is not to others.

self-evident  

–adjective evident in itself without proof or demonstration; axiomatic
Origin:  1665–75
Synonyms: obvious, self-explanatory.

Per http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/self-evident
Based on the Random House Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2010.

Then someone else rises up with an alternative view and I realize I didn’t know nearly as much as I thought.

I am a  librarian. I have worked in all sorts of library types (special, academic, medical, public) and in all sorts of positions (reference, circulation, ILL, serials, automation, cataloging, etc.), I’ve even worked for vendors.

Over the years I’ve learned quite a bit and realize that there is even more to know and synthesize. I love teaching – I enjoy when a student ‘gets’ a hard concept.  I’ve found, though, that I enjoy even more the challenge of learning new things from the others in the world.

At the time I started this blog, I was a trainer for technical services with special emphasis  in the basics of cataloging. When I first started that particular job I thought “well, this will be easy – cataloging is practically second nature to me”.  Then I did my first class. Huh.  I hadn’t realized.  There is a lot to this cataloging thing. Since then I have moved on to another position but still am “in the game” and planning to continue my life long goal of learning EVERYTHING I CAN. Stick around, I will.

I’ve created this blog to explore the concepts. To express what I see as the way of the world. I’m going to get it wrong sometimes (and right too!). I am going to be vehement at times then realize that I was seeing only the tail of the elephant and not the entire animal. I will point it out when I figure it out. Feel free to point me too (in a constructive way please, snarky isn’t the goal here). Agree or disagree at your leisure.

Oh, and this is my blog. Not my employer’s. MmmKay?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment